An underground copper mine that began exploration in 1846 and organized in 1848. Began operations working a fissure vein of native copper until 1856 when the Pewabic amygdaloid lode was discovered crossing the property. Operated continuosly from 1848 to 1931. Closed from 1931 to 1937, then re-opened from 1937 to 1945. 9 shafts were driven; 2 of these shafts, #2 and #6, reached 9,280 ft. deep on the incline (approx. 6,800 ft vertical). No. 7 shaft is unique in that is was driven on a catenary curve. In 99 years of operation, Quincy produced 424,000 tons of native copper from the underground workings. A large amount of native silver was also recovered from the mine. Starting in 1947 and continuing through 1968, another 50,000 tons of copper was recovered from reclamation activities in Torch Lake. Small pieces of copper, silver, and datolite can be found in the parking lots around the #2 shafthouse and the hoist building. Today the mine is owned by the Quincy Mine Hoist Association, which gives surface and underground tours of the mine during the summer months.
The Quincy Mine No. 2 Shaft Hoist House is an industrial building located north of Hancock, Michigan along US-41 within the Quincy Mining Company Historic District. The Hoist House contains the largest steam hoisting engine in the world, which sits on the the largest reinforced concrete engine foundation ever poured The shaft hoist house was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.
photos and underground tour.
/>A PDF from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
/>Videos on YouTube.