On July 8th 1906, South Crofty Mine - then rapidly expanding into one of Cornwall's most important mines - ceased to be a Cost Book Company and became South Crofty Ltd. To acompany this transition, the management of the mine was changed and it was proposed to address the logistical situation of the venture and necessary improvements.
This called for a new vertical shaft to be sunk west of Robinson's; this became known as New Cook's Kitchen Shaft, after the crooked pre-existing New Cooks Kitchen Engine Shaft. Work was commenced some time before the first annual report in June, 1907.
Today, the iconic shaft headgear is listed and the shaft itself forms a protected area under the Cornwall Minerals Safeguarding Development Plan (2018).
Data courtsey of Ben Sum, 1/10/20.
Buckley, J A 1982 "The History of South Crofty Mine" Penhellick